photo by Robin Hill

We at manchestertaper have been fans of Jane since Like an Aspen Leaf. Despite that being released almost 10 years ago, and Jane having released several more albums since, we’re almost ashamed to admit that we never got a chance to catch her live until last months’ acoustic set at the IABF (of course it didn’t help that she has never toured extensively).

From her alt-folk roots through to her more recent, darker, psych-folk offerings, there’s not a great deal we can add that’s not already been written: haunting melodies, sometimes quirky lyrics, and more recently experimental. Tonight we were treated to a relatively stripped back set (although not quite as stripped-back as the IABF gig), with projected visuals to The Fallen By Watch Bird. It was a slightly surreal experience, but it was a very well delivered and cohesive set. Our only complaint is that we would have like more older material to make up for the past 10 years we missed out on!

We are very pleased with how the recording sounds, and we hope you agree.

Stream “Silver chord”:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download complete show in mp3 format (click here)

01  intro
02  Europium alluminate
03  The fallen by watch bird
04  Majic milk
05  Turning in circles
06  Whispers of winter
07  My soul was lost, my soul was lost and no one saved me
08  Silver chord
09  Wonderous love
10  Like an aspen leaf
11  Milk money
12  Death

If you download and enjoy this music we would fully expect you to support the band by buying their records and attending their gigs. Jane’s official website is here and you can buy The Fallen By Watch Bird here.